Correspondence: The Necklace

Dear Miss Teiblanc,

Thank you for the necklace and the lock-box. I most sincerely appreciate the thoughtfulness of the gift as you have discovered my interest in the old tales and the things that still tell them. I have used the lock-box to hide the treasure from all sorts that pass through the boarding house, not just you-know-who. Though with how superstitious people are around here, I doubt many would be interested in something from the Downs. They would probably think it cursed.

Anyatka gasps, grinning widely. "What is that?" she asks stepping even closer and fully focused on the necklace. "Oh, it's beautiful." She suddenly raises a hand to her mouth. "Oh, but I can't take this. He'd be so mad; he's going to think I went out there."
Anyatka gasps, grinning widely. “What is that?” she asks stepping even closer and fully focused on the necklace. “Oh, it’s beautiful.” She suddenly raises a hand to her mouth. “Oh, but I can’t take this. He’d be so mad; he’s going to think I went out there.”

I do wish to apologize for arguing over what we argued over. It was silly of me to do. I know you were only looking out for me just as he has done thus far. Perhaps you are right and it is because he has been one of the few to show me kindness. Though without him, I might not have roof over my head or any other clothes on my back except the ones I walked into town with. He reminds me a bit of what I left behind with my brother, I guess. He always looked out for me and I do not think I’m very good on my own. Regardless of that, however, you are right—I do not know the man very well; I know only that he digs graves and seems to have taken an interest in me. And to be honest with you, Miss Teiblanc, I am uncertain of my interest in him, as well. Do know that I have thought over what you said and continue to do so.

I hope that you are well and that next time we meet we can share stories about your travels. Do take care and be safe until then!

Most sincerely,

Anya

Postscript: I am moving out of the boarding house! A lovely Elf-maiden has offered me the spare room in her home. I will send you the new information whenever I am settled.

One thought on “Correspondence: The Necklace

Leave a Reply

