That Random Song that Gets You in the Feels

As I was grading papers today, I was listening to a random YouTube mix based off of Newton Faulkner. I wasn’t really listening to the playlist, though, because grading. So as I was typing out answers to the parts of speech exercises in order to create an answer key, I didn’t understand why I suddenly got incredibly depressed. I mean, typing out

  1. noun
  2. adjective
  3. pronoun
  4. noun

isn’t really all that emotional.

So I paused my work and clicked over to the YouTube tab and restarted the song that was playing. I don’t listen to a lot of radio, nor do I expose myself to a lot of random music on internet or app stations, so I had never actively heard “Let Her Go” by Passenger, and that was the song.

Music effects me (as it does most of us) pretty strongly and that is one of the reasons why I love it so much. But I don’t appreciate it when it sneaks up on me and makes me tear up right before students are about to march in for the next class! I mean, it’s hard to explain to a bunch of fourteen year-olds that this song is perfect for Cwen right now… all you have to do is change “her” to “him.” They don’t really get that because it’s snowing outside, it makes the lyrics cut sharper. It’s more than hard… it’s ridiculous. (Though there is that handful that get what I’m talking about, they’re not in the class that was coming in, unfortunately.)

So, I drank some hot tea and focused the feels into this blog post, and now I can share the feels with you.

Happy Thursday.

3 thoughts on “That Random Song that Gets You in the Feels

Leave a Reply

